My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent – Review

$29.99

Our review:
This year’s must read – Fourteen year old Turtle has few social skills but excels in the areas of gun shooting and survivalist skills from being brought up by an abusive and crazed father who believes that the end of the world is coming soon. He is obsessed with “owning” his daughter in every possible way, while teaching her to be tough as nails both physically and emotionally. As Turtle begins to mature, she is able to kick back in the only way she knows how. This is a dark, powerful, brutal and violent novel that will not be everyone’s cup of tea…..but for those who want to experience the power of language, you will be profoundly rewarded. This is an incredibly well written, brave and bold debut book that is perfect for fans of A Little Life. You will feel the same kind of pathos, pain and hurt but also an uplifting sense of survival. I often found myself holding my breath. Just be prepared. Once you start on this journey, you will not want to get off. This book is unforgettable and so, so good.
Review by Jenny @ Great Escape Books.