The Nowhere Child by Christian White- Our Review

$32.99

Our Review: This is the remarkable and thrilling debut novel from an exhilarating new Australian talent and winner of the 2017 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript.

What would you do if you discovered your entire life was a lie? Feel shocked? Confused? Betrayed? That’s the question Kim Leamy has to face when she is approached by a stranger suggesting she might actually be Sammy Went, a little girl who was only two years old when she went missing twenty-eight years ago in Manson, Kentucky. The case was never solved. At first Kim is sceptical but then decides to journey from her home in Australia to the US on a pilgrimage to discover the truth and her true identity. However Kim discovers sometimes, some secrets are better not uncovered.

Chapters in the story alternate between past and present and the story crosses over two time zones, two countries and two completely different ways of life. It does not take long for the intrigue to step in and take hold as the story gives us small fragments of the puzzle, and with each piece, the tension rises until it is nearly unbearable, with possibilities lurking at the edge of the plot like shadows.

This spectacular tale of trauma, cult, conspiracy and memory was just brilliant and very very addictive. It demands to be read in one sitting. I was hooked from page three.
One of my favourites and perfect for fans of The Dry.

Review by Jenny @ Great Escape Books