Good Material by Dolly Alderton – Our Review

$34.99

Our Review

Award-winning author of Everything I Know About Love, podcast host and journalist featured in The Sunday Times Styles, GQ and Marie Claire, Dolly Alderton is a talented and accomplished writer.

Alderton’s new novel Good Material follows 35-year-old Londoner Andy, as he grapples with being dumped by his long-term girlfriend Jen. Now without a home and a flailing career as a comedian, Andy struggles with what his life looks like without Jen and uncovering why she left him in the first place. Left behind by his friends already married and with young kids, Andy’s perspective is an honest and sometimes unlikeable reflection of navigating life and dating in your twenties and thirties. Beautifully wrapped up by an incredibly powerful ending from Jen’s perspective.

An incredible insightful narration of dynamic and themes of modern romantic relationships. Alderton’s writing is funny, heart-breaking and enjoyable to read. A great summer read and perfect for fans of Coco Mellors and Sally Rooney.

Review by Jess @ Great Escape Books