The Leviathan: The instant Sunday Times bestseller by Rosie Andrews

$29.99

THE INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

SELECTED AS ONE OF THE OBSERVER’S 10 BEST DEBUT NOVELISTS OF 2022
‘It’s hard to believe that such an accomplished novel could be a debut – The Leviathan is a gloriously dark story that sweeps you along to its harrowing yet satisfying conclusion. Superb’ Susan Stokes-Chapman, number one bestselling author of Pandora
‘Darkly compelling and dripping with atmosphere… bewitching’ Stacey Halls, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS
A beguiling tale of superstition, myth and murder, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Essex Serpent and Once Upon a River.
SHE IS AWAKE…
Norfolk, 1643. With civil war tearing England apart, reluctant soldier Thomas Treadwater is summoned home by his sister, who accuses a new servant of improper conduct with their widowed father. By the time Thomas returns home, his father is insensible, felled by a stroke, and their new servant is in prison, facing charges of witchcraft.
Thomas prides himself on being a rational, modern man, but as he unravels the mystery of what has happened, he uncovers not a tale of superstition but something dark and ancient, linked to a shipwreck years before.
Something has awoken, and now it will not rest.

Richly researched, incredibly atmospheric, and deliciously unsettling, The Leviathan is set in England during a time of political and religious turbulence. It is a tale of family and loyalty, superstition and sacrifice, but most of all it is a spellbinding mystery and a story of impossible things.

‘Outstanding… a seething, haunting delight’ Beth Underdown, award-winning author of THE WITCHFINDER’S SISTER

‘Thoroughly gripping and utterly absorbing’ Jennifer Saint, author of ARIADNE